Quantum Conundrum

I downloaded the demo of this game to determine if my laptop could handle it. Sadly, it cannot.

But what I was able to try, I really liked playing. The creator of Portal, I believe, has done it again. Instead of solving puzzles with portals, 4 dimensions are used to change the properties of objects.

These 4 dimensions are Fluffy, Heavy, Slow, and Reverse.

Using these, you must solve all the puzzles which feels very rewarding each time you figure out how to use the special properties in each dimension. One of the first puzzles that I really got this feeling from was four piles of 4 safes each. Pressing a button above would shoot a lazer back and forth across them. You needed to switch between the fluffy and normal dimensions to destroy the safes in a way to make the piles 4, 3, 2, 1 in a row making a staircase to jump up and get to the higher floor.

The commentary by Professor Quadrangle throughout the demo was also really fun to listen to. Besides the difficulty, this game would be great to help children learn problem solving.

When I get a new computer, I will definitely be picking up this really enjoable game.

Leave a Reply

